top of page
  • Neil Conway III

2017 Summer Sizzler Scouting Report

2017 Street Heat Summer Sizzler Scouting Report

An intense level of dek hockey play is expected in the all day affair---The Summer Sizzler/Street Heat Tournament held on Saturday June 24th in Painesville Kiwanis Recreation Park. The action begins at 8:30 am and lasts all day. The entries are diverse, drawing from street hockey talent around the region, as follows:

1. CLE DEK---This team is in their fourth tournament appearance, with a roster of players from Cleveland’s floor hockey leagues, and a contender every time.

2. Columbus Veteran Moves---Captain Chad Kimbleton returns with a squad, the nucleus of which got them to the final last year. Expecting size and some of Columbus’ best street hockey talent.

3. Thunder Turtles---Last year the Turtles took a cinderella man run to the semi-finals with a team of former Mentor High Ice Hockey stars, and some of the top scorers from Painesville’s league play; that is, alternating net minder/forwards Jake Tackett and Brady Kloss, sniper Connor Stump and rocket man Paul McKito.

4. Ghost Trains---In grey and black this mysterious entry can be best described as the “friends of Declan Conway.” It includes college and junior ice hockey talent from Michigan, as well as nearby John Carroll University.

5. Erie Otters---In from nearby Erie, Pa. Brain Przybyzewski has assembled a diverse and experienced street hockey ensemble named for the town’s OHL hockey team.

6. Five O’Clock Somewhere---with a beach bum Margaritaville look, coach Liam Conway has put together a collection of friends including several local college hockey players, as well as teammate and friend Brayden Stortz, ice hockey player for Brock University in Ontario.

7. Justice of the Crease---Another entry from the Columbus league will bring a host of experienced players in their first run at the Sizzler.

8. Free Agents---A team comprised of individual entries, but a roster not to be taken lightly. Includes Connor Robbins (Quack Attack), Zach Grandstaff and Todd Lamperski (Boilermakers), and goaltender Steve DiMatteo and goal scorer Derek Cogar(Book Hockey).

Admission to spectators free.

182 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page